Editing Process – Session 5

This was my Final Editing Session where my primary focus was to cut down my Opening Sequence. This was essential in order to fit into the allowance of 10 seconds over 2 minutes, not including the length of my Production Cards.

I began by watching my Opening Sequence all the way through and when I thought that I could cut a section out , I would stop the film and click on the section that it was on and press the out button, cutting down my video. After I had done this for my whole video, I then moved all of the video over so that the gaps where I had cut sections out were no longer there, and then looked at how long my video was. At this stage I had managed to cut a lot out, and therefore only required a small amount to be taken out. This took careful watching to identify any places that I could cut down even further, without making my Sequence look bad.

Finally I got it to a point where I could not cut it down any further, and therefore had practically finished my Opening Sequence. However, I still had to put in the sound to my film. This process was very simple, as I had already downloaded the track on a memory stick. All that was left to do was to drag it across from my documents, into Final Cut and the Sound File was there straight away. I then had to cut the music exactly where the Transition was to indicate the different time period. This meant I had to cut it on a beat so the track sounded complete and not strange, also making sure that it was silent by the time the next scene was on the screen. This was simple enough, but then I had to add the Ambient Sound. The washing machine in the background changed noise in between all the different shots which were shown in the kitchen area. This had to be sorted and I knew this and therefore recorded some during my Filming Process. In order for the Ambient Noise to fit I first had to take off the Background Noise from the other shots, making sure I kept the ones with Dialogue. I then added the Ambient Noise other the top which made it sound like the washing machine in the background was continuous, and therefore added to the home like atmosphere. This enhanced the scene overall in my opinion.

Picture 8

Once all of the noise was complete then so was my opening sequence.

Leave a comment